Color Inspiration from Sydney Joy

I was scrolling through Facebook yesterday and happened upon a photo that an awesome photographer posted. Here’s the link to her Facebook page: https://www.facebook.com/kariizmaphotography/

Sydneys Inspiration Photo

As soon as I saw it, I thought out loud, “What a gorgeous color combination! I’m going to make a floral card in those colors!” (Yes I have permission from her to post her photo…if you don’t know, she’s my talented daughter.) Here’s the color palette, if you’d like to Pin it for future reference:Sydneys Color Palette

I decided to use lots of new products I recently purchased. There is a large magnolia suite in the Annual Catalog, but many people may not be aware that there is a smaller, coordinating one in the Experience Creativity Beginner’s Brochure called Magnolia Blooms. It’s geared towards people that are new to stamping, but that doesn’t mean avid stampers can’t use the products, too. Click here to see the brochure.

This inspiration and color palette just sings “wedding” to me, so I wanted to work in some vellum. I ran a layer piece through the die cutting machine with the Scripty 3D Embossing Folder. I die cut the gorgeous frame with the Petal Labels Dies out of Mint Macaron and the magnolia is colored with Stampin’ Blends markers. It was missing something from the Mint Macaron layer, so I asked Hunter what she thought it needed. Why do I even bother asking? Her answer for almost everything is to sponge it! So, that’s what I did. I love the extra texture from it. I finished it off with Pearl Basic Jewels colored with the Bronze and Petal Pink Blends and I decided to use the gorgeous Petal Pink Variegated Ribbon that retired from the Occasions Catalog in the spring…but I’ll bet there are lots of you that have it because it was a best-seller.

Color Inspiration from Sydney Joy

Here’s the inside of the card:

Color Inspiration from Sydney Joy Inside.jpg

And here it is with the matching envelope (no naked envelopes!):

Color Inspiration from Sydney Joy w Env
Card Recipe
Stamp Sets:  Magnolia Blooms, Path of Petals (inside)
Cardstock:  Early Espresso, Mint Macaron, Whisper White
Specialty Cardstock:  Vellum
Ink:  Petal Pink, Memento Tuxedo Black
Stampin’ Blends: Bronze, Mint Macaron, Petal Pink, Soft Suede
Love:  Petal Pink Variegated Ribbon (retired), Pearl Basic Jewels
Tools:  Stampin’ Sponges, Petal Labels Dies, Layering Ovals Dies, Scripty 3D Embossing Folder, 3D Embossing Plate, Magnetic Platform, Precision Base Plate, Big Shot

Click on the catalog name to view the PDFs:
2019 Holiday Catalog
2019-2020 Annual Catalog

jenniferarentstamps@comcast.net

If you want more inspiration, be sure to visit my Pinterest boards! I have a ridiculous number of boards – arranged by type and themes for cards, scrapbooking and papercrafting!
https://www.pinterest.com/jenniferarent/

Leave a comment