Thankful for Pleasant Pheasants

Today’s card features another new stamp set in the upcoming Holiday catalog, which will be available to order from beginning September 5, 2018. Pheasants are dear to my heart, as they remind me of my dad. Back in 2009, Stampin’ Up! released a stamp set called Autumn Days, which also featured a pheasant. I bought the set to make my dad’s Birthday card with it. Unfortunately, he passed away a few weeks before his Birthday. I made him a Missing You card and placed it in his casket. You can see that card here. So, as you can imagine, as soon as Hunter and I saw this new Pleasant Pheasants stamp set, she looked at me and said I had to get it…in my dad’s memory. So, dad, this card is for you, too.

Keep reading for a couple of techniques featured on this card.

Thankful for Pleasant Pheasants


Background Block Stamping With Markers
I know for myself that it can be difficult to color in images that are realistic, so I tried a technique that is new-to-me. This was super easy – as you can see by the steps below. I used Block E and scribbled Stampin’ Write markers on it. Then I spritzed it about 8 to 10 times with water. I then placed it directly on to the Whisper White cardstock. I wasn’t able to capture it on a photo, but when you place it on the cardstock, you can actually see the color absorbing right into the cardstock. It doesn’t take very long to dry, either. Just keep in mind that the cardstock will bow a little.


Customizing Pearls
I adore the new Braided Linen Trim, but I needed a little something extra. I grabbed my Dark Soft Suede Stampin’ Blends marker and colored directly onto the pearls with the brush end. Since Blends are alcohol markers, they dry almost instantly and the color won’t rub off.  Another excuse for me to buy more Blends colors so I can have pearls of any color I need!
Blends on Pearls

Card Recipe
Stamp Set:  Pleasant Pheasants
Cardstock:  Cajun Craze, Soft Suede, Whisper White
Ink:  Cajun Craze, Early Espresso
Stampin’ Write Markers:  Cajun Craze, Crushed Curry, Soft Suede
Stampin’ Write Blends:  Dark Soft Suede
Lovelies: Braided Linen Trim, Pearl Basic Jewels
Tools:  Stampin’ Spritzer, Banner Triple Punch, Corrugated Dynamic Embossing Folder, Big Shot

Click on the Stampin’ Up Catalogs tab above for the Annual Catalog PDF. I will add the 2018 Holiday Catalog as soon as I’m allowed to.

jenniferarentstamps@comcast.net

If you want more inspiration, be sure to visit my Pinterest boards! I have a ridiculous number of boards – arranged by type and themes for cards, scrapbooking and papercrafting!

https://www.pinterest.com/jenniferarent/

3 thoughts on “Thankful for Pleasant Pheasants

  1. Pingback: 2018 HOLIDAY CATALOG!!! | Jennifer Arent Stamps

Leave a comment