Shimmery Watercolor Butterfly

I decided to try something different today. I watercolored Flirty Flamingo ink onto Shimmery White cardstock. I used an Aqua Painter to first cover the entire piece of cardstock in water.  Then I brushed the ink in a sweeping motion onto the cardstock. After it dried, I die cut the butterflies. They turned out exactly as I hoped!  If you decide to give it a try, be sure to use a shim for your Big Shot sandwich – the Shimmery White must be slightly thinner than the standard cardstock. My sandwich was (from bottom to top): Magnetic Platform, Precision Base Plate, cardstock, die, shim (scrap piece of cardstock), standard cutting pad.

Shimmery Butterfly

I wish you could see it in real life. You can see the shimmer on the whole butterfly – as if it was covered in Wink of Stella. Here’s a close up that might help a little:

Shimmer Butterfly Close Up

So, what do you think? I’ll definitely use this technique again!

Stamp Set: Thoughts & Banners
Cardstock:  Shimmery White, Flirty Flamingo, Basic Black, Whisper White
Ink:  Flirty Flamingo
Lovelies:  Flirty Flamingo Ruched Ribbon, 1/8” Silver Ribbon, Rhinestone Basic Jewels
Tools:  Softly Falling Embossing Folder, Triple Banner Punch, Butterflies Thinlits, Magnetic Platform, Precision Base Plate, Die Brush

jenniferarentstamps@comcast.net

If you want more inspiration, be sure to visit my Pinterest boards! I have a ridiculous number of boards – arranged by type and themes for cards, scrapbooking and papercrafting! https://www.pinterest.com/jenniferarent/

Leave a Reply

